This year’s winners of the second OSCE-IFSH Essay Competition


It was a close call this year: The jury named Anna Nadibaidze (28, University of Southern Denmark), Nicolò Miotto (23, Karls-Universität Prag) and Claudia Ditel (27, Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz) as the winners of this year’s OSCE-IFSH Essay Competition. They received monetary and other prizes; furthermore, the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP) will publish their winning essays as part of its Strategic Security Analysis series. The IFSH awarded two other participants for their innovative ideas with valuable book vouchers. 

The public announcement of the three finalists and award ceremony took place during the digital session of the OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation on 8 December 2021. After the success of the first such essay competition, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and the IFSH, in cooperation with the GCSP, the Moscow State Institute for International Relations (MGIMO) and the Vienna Centre for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation (VCDNP), iterated the call for essays in March 2021. This joint initiative invited students and young professionals of the OSCE’s 57 participating States and Partners for Co-operation and under 35 years of age to submit their ideas on issues of conventional arms control and confidence- and security-building measures. 36 authors from 19 different states submitted their essays.

For more information about the essay competition and the three winners, please see the OSCE’s website.