Governance and Structure

The Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the University of Hamburg (IFSH) was founded in 1971 and is an independent entity operating as a civil law foundation. According to the charter, the aim of the institute’s work is to address security policy problems within the framework of peace research and, in doing so, fulfil the criteria for independent research and instruction, advancement of junior scientists and the publicising of research findings.






Board of Trustees

Dr. Eva Gümbel, Staatsrätin der Behörde für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Gleichstellung

Vice Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Dieter Lenzen, President of Universität Hamburg

Other Members

  • Prof. Dr. Anna Geis, Helmut Schmidt-Universität/University of the Armed Forces Hamburg, Chairperson of the IFSH's Advisory Board
  • Prof. Dr. Cord Jakobeit, Universität Hamburg, Fakultät Sozialwissenschaften
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Scheffran, Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Zimmerer, Universität Hamburg, Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften
  • Niels Annen, Member of the German Bundestag and Minister of State at the Federal Foreign Office
  • Jürgen Klimke, former Member of the German Bundestag
  • Antje Möller, Member of the Hamburg Parliament
  • Marcel Bub, Student Representative

Institute Council

Members of the council are:

  •     The Scientific Director
  •     The Senior Researchers
  •     Two Representatives of the group of Researchers and Junior Researchers
  •     One Non-academic Representative

Advisory Board


Prof. Dr. Anna Geis, Helmut-Schmidt-Universität der Bundeswehr, Hamburg

Other Members

  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Bonacker, Universität Marburg
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Hentschel, Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz-Gerhard Justenhoven, Institut für Theologie und Frieden, Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Oeter, Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Paul Reuber, Universität Münster
  • Prof. Dr. Petra Seibert, Universität Wien
  • Prof. Dr. Anja Jakobi, TU Braunschweig

Staff Association

Ute Runge

Other Members

Naida Mehmedbegović Dreilich, M.A., M.P.S.

Carsten Walter


Ursel Schlichting is the ombudsperson for compliance regarding the IFSH Guidelines for Safeguarding Good Scholarly Practice


Equal Opportunity Commissioner

Equal Opportunity Commissioner is Dr. Sylvia Kühne. Deputies: Dr. Nina Perkowski and Hendrik Erz.

Research Sponsoring

Peace Research Sponsoring Association (VFIF)

The Peace Research Sponsoring Association (VFIF) was founded on 28 January 1997 at the initiative of Dr Heinz Liebrecht and the then-member of the Hamburg state parliament, Georg Berg.

The association endeavours to support the Institute’s work by acting as a broker, transmitting results to the political and public spheres and raising additional funds.

Executive Board:

Andrea Wist (Chairperson)
Prof. Dr. Michael Brzoska  (Deputy Chairperson)
Liane Bayreuther-Lutz (Secretary)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Gießmann (Treasurer)
Prof. Dr. Ursula Schröder (Director IFSH)

Beim Schlump 83, 20144 Hamburg

Contact: Britta Fisch
Phone: 040-866 077 12, Fax: 040-866 077 13