IFSH Scientist selected to support Scientific Advisory Group of Ban Treaty


In 2017, states negotiated the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (also called “Ban Treaty”).  It entered into force in 2021 and prohibits 68 member states from producing, owning and using nuclear weapons. Germany and other NATO states have not ratified the treaty. During the first meeting of states parties 2022 the ban treaty member states decided to create a scientific advisory group with 15 members.

Since March 01 2023, IFSH scientist Dr. Moritz Kütt is a member of the scientific advisory group, based on nominations by member states. The group will be co-chaired by Zia Mian (Princeton University) and Patricia Lewis (Chatham House). The tasks of the group include advice and reporting towards member states on issues related to verification, nuclear weapon risks, humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapon use and the current status of nuclear weapons. In the past, Moritz Kütt supported the ban treaty community with his scientific expertise and will continue to do so within the scientific advisory group.

Please click here to find out more.