Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) entered into force in January 2021. The agreement, often short "Ban Treaty", prohibits member states from developing, testing, production, possession as well as use or threat of use of nuclear weapons. The Ban Treaty is the first new agreement in the area of nuclear disarmament and arms control after the entry into force of New START a decade ago. 124 states took part in the negotiations of the TPNW in 2017. Currently, there are 51 member states. However, no nuclear weapon state has joined. Germany and all other NATO members also oppose joining the treaty.

Several IFSH researchers work on various aspects of the new agreement. We compare different positions of European countries, study new possibilities for Engagement of NATO members, and assess and develop technologies for the verification of the treaty. IFSH experts contribute results to national and international debates. We want to inform the general public and decision makers about the role of the Ban Treaty for nuclear disarmament. Our work shows how the TPNW could contribute to a nuclear-weapons-free world.

  • image-6005

    Between rejection and accession: Germany and the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

    Dr. Oliver Meier

    On 22 January 2021, the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) entered into force. The 54 states parties are prohibited from possessing nuclear weapons as assisting nuclear weapons…

    Read more

More about the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

  • TPNW Member States Follow Recommendations from IFSH and Princeton Researchers

    From 21 to June 23, the first meeting of State parties to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) was held Vienna. In a statement at the meeting, IFSH researcher Moritz Kütt presented…

    Read more
    [Translate to English:]
  • IFSH Report Provides Incoming Federal Government with Recommendations on Arms Control

    Christopher Fichtlscherer, Dr Pia Fuhrhop, Dr Alexander Graef, Dr Mischa Hansel, Dr Alexander Kelle, Dr Ulrich Kühn, Dr Moritz Kütt, Dr Oliver Meier, Dr Neil Renic, Professor Dr Elvira Rosert, Dr Jantje Silomon, Franziska Stärk, Maren Vieluf

    In the coming years, the new German federal government will be faced with three difficult arms control issues. The government must create new approaches, protect existing ones, and further develop…

    Read more
  • German and Japanese perspective on the current nuclear disarmament architecture

    Dr. Ulrich Kühn

    Interview with the Japanese-German Center Berlin


    In the conversation moderated by Renate Tenbusch, Director of the EU Office of the Friedrich-Ebert- Foundation, Ulrich Kühn discusses the current…

    Read more
  • What if a Nuclear Bomb Fell on Hamburg?

    On the 75th anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima, the IFSH released an animated video showing what would happen if an atomic bomb were dropped on Hamburg.

    The atomic bombs dropped on Japan in August 1945 represent the cruelty and destructive power of this type of weapon, and yet they have failed to serve as a warning. The world’s nuclear powers have…

    Read more
  • Paths towards a world free of nuclear weapons – progress and setbacks

    Dr. Oliver Meier

    How can Germany promote nuclear disarmament? What measure need to be taken to reduce the risk of new arms races? What are the opportunities and risks associated with new instruments like the Treaty on…

    Read more
  • New Publication: Ban Treaty

    Dr. Moritz Kütt

    Together with Zia Mian, a researcher at the Program on Science and Global Security, Princeton University, Moritz Kütt published an article "Setting the Deadline for Nuclear Weapon Destruction under…

    Read more

Books and Edited Volumes

Journal Articles

Working Papers and Policy Briefs

Commentaries and other Publications